Session status messages
Session Status

Due to inactivity, your session will end in approximately 2 minutes. Extend your session by clicking OK below.

Due to inactivity, your session has expired. Please sign in again to continue.

Apple iPad - Erase All Content and Settings

2026-10-22 18:10:59.675

Apple iPad - Erase All Content and Settings

Here's how to factory / hard reset your iPad if the screen freezes or call, app, audio or sync issues occur.
  • Erase all content and settings only if necessary as it removes your email accounts and all data including system data and app data and media.
  • To ensure the Activation Lock is removed, sign out of iCloud:
    1. Tap
      Sign out
      (upper-right) then tap
      Sign Out
      again to confirm.
    2. Enter your Apple ID password and tap
      Turn Off
      .
    3. Scroll down to the bottom then tap
      Sign Out
      .
    4. Tap
      Settings
      Settings icon > [your name].
  • If you are signed in to your Apple ID on another device (known as a 'trusted' device), you may be required to enter a verification code sent to that trusted device upon reactivation.
  • Advanced troubleshooting and configuration should be handled by Apple.
  • Before you sell or trade your device, check out this Apple Support page.
  1. From the Home screen on your Apple® iPad®, navigate:
    Settings Settings icon
    General
    Transfer or Reset iPad
    .
    If unavailable, navigate:
    Settings
    General
    Reset
    .
    An alternate method (restore via iTunes) is available if the device is unresponsive or won't power on.
  2. Tap
    Erase All Content and Settings
    .
  3. If prompted, review the 'Erase This iPad' screen then tap
    Continue
    .
  4. If applicable, enter the Apple ID password then tap
    Turn Off
    .
  5. Tap one of the following:
    • Erase iPad
    • Cancel
  6. If presented, enter the passcode.
  7. To confirm, tap
    Erase
    .
    If using an iPad activated with an eSIM, from the Erase iPad pop-up tap one of the following:
    • Cancel
    • Erase All
      This will also erase your eSIM profile and Cellular Data Plan.
    • Erase All & Keep Data Plans
      This will erase all of your data, but will maintain your eSIM profile and Cellular Data Plan.
  8. Allow several minutes for the reset and reboot processes to complete.
    If needed, set up your device. If troubleshooting third-party apps, don't restore app data.