Apple iPad - Unsend and Edit iMessages
Here's how to unsend and edit an iMessage via the Messages app on your iPad.
- The following steps below apply to when an iMessage® is sent from your Apple® iPad® on iPadOS 16 or later. iMessages require a data or Wi-Fi connection.
- SMS messages can’t be unsent or edited.
- When a message is sent, the message type (e.g., iMessage, SMS, etc.) is indicated by differing colors.
- Advanced troubleshooting and configuration should be handled by Apple.
Unsend iMessage
- You can undo a recently sent message for up to 2 minutes after sending it.
- If the person you’re messaging is using a device with iOS 16 or later, unsending removes the message from their device.
- If the person you’re messaging is using a device with iOS 15.6 or earlier or is using SMS, the original message remains in the conversation. When you unsend a message, you’re notified that the recipient may still see the original message in the message transcript.
- From a Home screen, tap theMessages icon
.
If an app isn't available on your Home screen, swipe left to access the App Library. - Tap the desired conversation.
- Touch and hold the desired message bubble, then tapUndo Send.A note confirming that you unsent the message appears in both conversation transcripts.
Edit iMessage
- You can edit a recently sent message up to 5 times within 15 minutes of sending it.
- If the person you’re messaging is using a device with iOS 16 or later, the message bubble is updated to reflect your edits on their device, and both of you can tap Edited to see previous versions of your message.
- If the person you’re messaging is using a device with iOS 15.6 or earlier or is using SMS, they receive a new message with your updated text.
- From a Home screen, tap theMessages icon
.
If an app isn't available on your Home screen, swipe left to access the App Library. - Tap the desired conversation.
- Touch and hold the desired message bubble, then tapEdit.
- Edit the message then do one of the following:
- To send edited message, tap theSend icon
.
The message is marked as 'Edited' in the conversation transcript. - To revert, tap theCancel icon
.