Session status messages
Session Status

Due to inactivity, your session will end in approximately 2 minutes. Extend your session by clicking OK below.

Due to inactivity, your session has expired. Please sign in again to continue.

Apple iPhone - Erase All Content and Settings

2026-10-22 17:08:13.658

Apple iPhone - Erase All Content and Settings

Here's how to restore your iPhone if it crashes, has a blank or frozen screen or connection issues.
  • Prior to erasing your device, if activating a new iPhone and you don't have enough iCloud storage to backup your device, you may be eligible to get temporary storage using iCloud Backup. For more details refer to this Apple Support page (iOS 15 or newer is required).
  • Before you sell or trade your device, check out this Apple Support page.
  • Erase all content and settings only if necessary as it removes your email accounts and all data including system data, app data and media.
  • Music, pictures and videos can be backed up to iCloud® or Verizon Cloud.
  • To ensure the Activation Lock is removed, sign out of iCloud by doing the following:
    1. Navigate:
      Settings Settings icon
      [your name]
      Sign Out
      .
    2. Enter your Apple ID password and tap
      Turn Off
      .
    3. Tap
      Sign out
      (upper-right) then tap
      Sign Out
      again to confirm.
  • If you are signed in to your Apple ID on another device (known as a 'trusted' device), you may be required to enter a verification code sent to that trusted device upon reactivation.
  1. From a Home screen, navigate:
    Settings Settings Icon
    General
    Transfer or Reset iPhone
    .
    An alternate method is available if the device is unresponsive or won't power on.
  2. Tap
    Erase All Content and Settings
    .
  3. From the 'Erase This iPhone' screen, view the following info then tap
    Continue
    :
    If presented, enter your passcode.
    • Apps and Data
      This shows how many GB is being used to store your apps and data.
    • Apple ID
      Your Apple ID name displays.
    • Find My
    • Apple Wallet
    • eSIMs
  4. Enter your Apple ID password then tap
    Turn off
    .
    This step disables the Activation Lock / Find My feature on your iPhone.
  5. From the 'Are you sure you want to continue?' prompt, select one of the following options:
    • Cancel
    • Erase Data and eSIMs
      Selecting this option will factory data reset device and remove all cellular plans associated with your phone.
      Removing a cellular plan doesn't cancel your service. To cancel your service, contact your carrier.
    • Erase Data and Keep eSIMs (Preferred Method)
      eSIM profiles remain intact after the device is reset to factory settings. Choose this option if you plan to continue using the device.
  6. Allow several minutes for the reset and reboot processes to complete.
    If needed, set up your device. If troubleshooting, don't restore the device until all testing has been completed.
For specific error messages, refer to iOS update and restore errors.