Session status messages
Session Status

Due to inactivity, your session will end in approximately 2 minutes. Extend your session by clicking OK below.

Due to inactivity, your session has expired. Please sign in again to continue.

Apple iPhone - Restore from iCloud Backup

2026-10-22 16:04:25.87

Apple iPhone - Restore from iCloud Backup

Here's how to restore content (e.g., Photos, Music, settings, etc.) to your iPhone from a backup on iCloud.
  • Follow these steps to restore content from a previous iCloud® backup on your Apple® iPhone.®
  • If your iPhone has previously completed setup, ensure backup has been completed then follow these instructions to erase all content.
  • If this is an upgrade or your phone was not activated when purchased, refer to activate a new iPhone.
  1. Press the
    Power button
    (top-right edge) to power the iPhone on.
  2. Tap the screen to choose language then tap the country or region.
  3. Tap
    Set Up Manually
    .
    If you have a previous device running iOS 11 or later, follow the directions to use Quick Start.
  4. Tap the Wi-Fi network, enter the Wi-Fi password then tap
    Join
    .
  5. From the Data & Privacy screen, tap
    Continue
    .
  6. If prompted to set up Face or Touch ID tap
    Continue
    .
  7. Follow the onscreen prompts to complete the Touch or Face ID setup.
  8. Enter a passcode,  then re-enter passcode to confirm.
  9. Tap
    Restore from iCloud Backup
    .
  10. Enter your Apple ID to sign in to iCloud.
    If you forgot your password, follow these step-by-step instructions.
  11. To continue, review Terms and Conditions then tap
    Agree
    .
  12. From the 'Choose Backup' screen, choose which backup to restore.
  13. From the Keep Your iPhone Up to Date, tap
    Continue
    .
  14. If prompted, enter your Apple ID again to restore your previous purchases and apps.
    Ensure you maintain a data connection via Wi-Fi or cellular; if you disconnect from Wi-Fi, the transfer pauses until you are reconnected.
    Time to restore content depends on the amount of data being transferred.
    Restore progress bar
  15. Follow on-screen prompts to complete the initial setup.